THE SPARK

One of the most enlightening adventures in my life was a backpacking trip into McKittrick Canyon for four days. There was no water, electricity, toilet, or first aid station. My 40 lb. backpack carried all the necessities needed to survive in the wild, including:

  • Tent
  • Food
  • Water and purification tablets
  • Clothing
  • Lantern
  • Sleeping bag and pad
  • And, or course, makeup and beauty products (Yes, I know…)

 

Other than a midnight raid by ringtail cats (that I was convinced were escape convicts with murderous intent), it was the most wonderful experience.  This found knowledge that I could survive on my own in the wilderness was empowering.

This was the spark of my self sufficiency journey.

Years past and I became one of the materialistic millions, working 8 to 5 to buy things I didn’t need.  Then I found a few excellent blogs that inspired me to rethink my world.

  • The Minimalists
  • Zen Habits
  • Rowdy Kittens and Dee Williams

I began sharing the tiny house ideas with my husband, (who can design and build anything), and he was on board with the idea.

As so we begin our journey.  The tiny house, called Coyote Cabin, is progressing and it’s going to be an awesome adventure!

Leave a Reply

